LoRa sensor technology regulates access to postal voting

Absentee ballot traffic light

As part of the cooperation with the Stadtwerke Gießen, another use case for the LoRaWAN® network installed in Gießen was implemented on the ground floor of the town hall.
The focus is on pandemic monitoring of the number of people in the absentee ballot office. Only three voters should be in the polling station at any one time. This way, distance regulations and CO2 values can be observed and voters can safely visit the postal voting office.
The resulting "traffic light" is homegrown, but effective. The idea for the traffic light came from the head of the Office of Service, Information, Press and Elections. It was then implemented by Stadtwerke Gießen - and we at m2m Germany also contributed our share in hardware and software as part of our cooperation with SWG.

The way the absentee ballot system works is very simple: At the beginning of the corridor leading to the absentee ballot office, there is a screen. If access is free - i.e. there are fewer than three people in the postal voting office - the screen lights up green and asks the person wishing to vote by post to enter individually; as soon as a certain number of eligible voters have passed the screen, it then turns red and asks the voter to Please wait.

The whole thing is made possible by an infrared light barrier that is connected via LoRaWAN®. The recorded data - when someone passes the light barrier - converge on a specially programmed Thingsboard dashboard and play out the information accordingly. In addition to the display for visitors to the postal voting office, there is also a super admin view that runs directly in the voting office. This view can be used to correct the number of people present, so that only the number of voters is actually displayed, because when the employees of the election office enter their workplace in the morning, the system naturally also counts them as present.

This was also worth a report in the Gießener Allgemeine - you can read it here. can be read here.

Are you currently planning a use case with LoRaWAN®or is the topic of general interest? Then get in touch with us Contact or visit our current Webinar on the topic of LoRaWAN®

LoRa-Sensorik regelt Zugang zur Briefwahl

Briefwahl Ampel

Im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit mit den Stadtwerken Gießen wurde im Erdgeschoss des Rathauses ein weiterer  Use-Case für das in Gießen installierte LoRaWAN® Netz umgesetzt.
Im Fokus steht eine Pandemie gerechte Überwachung der Personenanzahl, die sich im Briefwahlbüro aufhält.  Es sollen sich immer nur drei Wähler gleichzeitig im Wahlbüro aufhalten. Dadurch können Abstandsregelungen und CO2 Werte eingehalten  und den Wählern ein sicherer Briefwahlbesuch ermöglicht  werden.
Die daraus resultierende “Ampel” ist  zwar  Marke Eigenbau, aber  effektiv. Die Idee  zu der Ampel hatte die Leiterin des Amtes für Service, Information, Presse und Wahlen. Umgesetzt haben es dann die Stadtwerke Gießen – und auch wir von der m2m Germany haben im Rahmen der Kooperation mit der SWG unseren Teil in Hard- und Software dazu beigesteuert.

Die Funktionsweise des Briefwahl-Ampel-Systems ist gänzlich einfach: Am Beginn des Flures, der zum Briefwahlbüro führt, steht ein Bildschirm. Ist der Zutritt frei – sprich, es befinden sich weniger  als drei Personen im Briefwahlbüro, leuchtet der Bildschirm Grün und bittet den Briefwahl-Willigen einzeln einzutreten, sobald eine bestimmte Anzahl an Wahlberechtigten den Bildschirm passiert hat, springt dieser dann auf  Rot und fordert den Wähler auf, Bitte zu warten.

Ermöglicht wird das Ganze durch eine Infrarot-Lichtschranke, die via LoRaWAN® angebunden ist. Die erfassten Daten – wann jemand die Lichtschranke passiert, laufen auf einem eigens programmierten Thingsboard Dashboard zusammen und spielen die Information entsprechend aus.  Dabei gibt es neben der Anzeige für den Besucher des Briefwahlbüros auch eine Super-Admin Ansicht, die direkt im Wahlbüro läuft.  Über diese Ansicht kann die Zahl der Anwesenden korrigiert werden, damit tatsächlich nur die Anzahl der Wähler abgebildet wird, denn wenn morgens die Mitarbeiter des Wahlbüros ihren Arbeitsplatz betreten, zählt das System diese natürlich auch als anwesend.

Auch der  Gießener Allgemeinen war das einen Bericht wert – den gibt’s hier zum Nachlesen.

Sie planen aktuell auch einen Use-Case mit LoRaWAN®oder das Thema ist generell von Interesse? Dann nehmen Sie mit uns Kontakt auf oder besuchen Sie unser aktuelles Webinar zum Thema LoRaWAN®