Funding for digitisation and innovative R&D projects

As we have been dealing with various subsidy programs for quite some time now and have already used some of them ourselves, it was obvious to examine to what extent our customers can also apply for subsidies for services we provide.

At first glance, the topic of funding seems like an impenetrable jungle - questions over questions and often it leads to the fact that funding is not even considered and one or the other project cannot be implemented.

We would like to share with you our knowledge and experience on the subject of subsidy programmes, but would like to point out that we are not a designated subsidy consultant, nor do we claim to be complete. However, we can certainly emphasize in advance that the subsidy landscape is very complex.

Depending on the project, one or even more funding programmes are possible and a closer look at the project in advance can be financially profitable. In some cases, funding programmes can also be combined, e.g. funding for consultancy with subsequent implementation, which in turn can be funded by another programme. Either way, it is worth considering funding programmes if R&D and/or digitisation measures are planned anyway. Most of the support programmes are only of interest to SMEs, but the new research allowance can also be used to support companies of any size.

Within the scope of a cooperation with us, we will be happy to support you in the examination and the eligible design of our services, so that ideally you will benefit twice - from our actual development and consulting services and from subsidies.

The return on investment of your digitisation measures or your new, innovative product can be achieved in a very short time thanks to state subsidies.

Money Stack

The agony of choice

There are countless funding opportunities and support programs. We cannot and do not want to enumerate them all. The programmes we can present to you are at state and federal level. Some have a regional focus, others do not. Subsidy sums - and quotas vary and also what can and should be subsidised is covered differently by the individual subsidy pools. In addition, some programmes are already credited against other subsidies - it quickly becomes clear that "promotion" is not an easy undertaking.

Here is a brief overview and if you like, you can download our funding white paper at the bottom of the page.

ZIM funding is a programme for innovative research and development

ZIM (Zentrales Innovationsprogramm Mittelstand) projects are - as the name suggests - a funding instrument tailored to small and medium-sized companies for operational research and development activities for the development of innovative products, processes or technical services. As a rule, these are projects that extend over one to several years. In addition to individual projects, there is also the possibility of carrying out cooperation projects together with other companies and/or research institutions. Cooperation projects have slightly higher maximum funding amounts and quotas and tend to increase the probability of approval. Eligible for funding are own personnel costs as well as material costs and external work.

In our experience, ZIM projects are suitable for complex new product developments. The innovative character of the development is important. Otherwise the application will most likely be rejected.

The application as well as the implementation and documentation of ZIM projects is quite complex and is usually accompanied by specialised consultants who are remunerated pro rata from the funding amount. Of course, the remaining amount of funding is reduced by this fee.

It is also important that the project may only be started after approval of the application for funding.

Sources and further information:

ZIM Promotion

The research allowance - flexible support for in-house and third-party development

The research allowance will have to be applied for the first time for the year 2020 and is therefore a completely new instrument for which there is no practical experience as yet. The two most important differences to most other programmes are the absence of size restrictions on eligible companies - most other programmes are aimed exclusively at SMEs - and the fact that the research allowance is applied for retrospectively.

The research allowance is intended as a supplement to the ZIM programme and should be somewhat more flexible and less costly to handle. We intend to make use of this programme and will hopefully be able to say more about whether these goals have been achieved by early 2021.

Only internal personnel costs incurred in the course of development and/or externally purchased development services are subsidised, but then only to a maximum of 15% of the invoice total.

One disadvantage of the programme is obviously the relatively low funding rate, which is why we really only see it as a supplement to the funding kit. If other programmes are suitable for a development project, we would give preference to these.

However, especially for companies outside the SME specification it is (for lack of alternatives) the means of choice.

Sources and further information:

Research allowance

"Digital Now": The brand new program on federal level

The "Digital Now" programme is divided into two funding modules: "Investment in digital technologies" and "Investment in staff training". Eligible are expenses for services (hardware, software & services) for digitisation measures of external providers. Own personnel costs cannot be claimed. It will be possible to submit online applications for this from 07.09.2020. Accordingly, little can be said about this yet, but on the basis of the information available it sounds extremely promising. The maximum funding amount as well as the funding quota are quite high and the complexity of application and implementation seems to be much lower than e.g. in ZIM projects.

Explicitly mentioned as eligible are, among others, investments in data-driven business models, artificial intelligence (AI), cloud applications, big data and sensor technology.

"Digital Now" falls under the "de minimis" regulation[1].

Sources and further information:

Digital now

1] This EU regulation stipulates that the total amount of aid granted may not exceed EUR 200,000 over a period of three fiscal years.

The Digi grant: efficient support for small-scale digitisation activities in Hessen

This support programme, which is exclusively based in Hessen, is limited to "only" 10,000 euros, but with a support rate of 50% and low formal expenditure it is absolutely worthwhile for small and medium-sized digitisation projects. It should also be noted that this subsidy can only be claimed once per company. It is therefore worthwhile to use the pot as fully as possible.

Similar to "Digital Jetzt", only costs of external providers are eligible. Own personnel costs cannot be claimed. Eligible are expenses in the field of hardware, software & services for digitisation measures, such as in the simplest case e.g. CRM or e-commerce systems. However, the digitisation of logistics processes or the integration of sensor technology and networking of production systems is also possible under this programme.

Even if the "Digi Zuschuss" is a Hessian programme, you should simply find out more about it in your federal state. As far as we know, there are many very similar programs such as
, e.g. the "Digital Bonus" program in Bavaria.

The 'digi grant' is also covered by the de minimis rule.

Sources and further information:

Technology State Hesse

Wibank

"Leaflet on the support programme Grant for Digitisation Measures" of the Hessian Ministry of Economics, Energy, Transport and Housing of 12.06.2020

"Go Digital" Promotion of consultancy services relating to digitisation

The "Go Digital" programme can only be applied for through certified consultants, who will then also take care of handling the grant. Thus, the complexity for the subsidized company is very low. Within the funding programme there are three modules: "Digitalised business processes", "Digital market development" and "IT security". Only consultancy services are funded, not the implementation of corresponding digitisation measures.

Authorized consulting firms for the different modules can be searched for online via an interactive consultant map. This programme also falls under the de minimis rule.

 

Sources and further information:

Go Digital

"Digitization consulting" of the RKW Hessen

The "Digitisation Advisory Service" is quite similar to the "Go Digital" programme at federal level. For example, only consultancy services in connection with digitisation projects are funded; the actual implementation and acquisition of hardware or software is not eligible for funding under this programme. The application and project documentation is also carried out by certified consultants. If you have not yet found your preferred consultant, you can easily contact the RKW, which can provide competent consultants. In this respect, the programme is not very complex and is well suited for smaller projects and digitisation projects.
Within the framework of this programme we have sought advice, for example, on digitisation in marketing. This programme also falls under the de minimis rule.

Sources and further information:

RKW Hesse

Fördermittel für Digitalisierung und innovative FuE Projekte

Da wir uns vor dem Hintergrund der Förderung unserer eigenen internen Entwicklungs- und Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen schon seit geraumer Zeit mit unterschiedlichen Förderprogrammen auseinandersetzen und einige bereits selbst genutzt haben, war es naheliegend zu überprüfen, inwieweit auch unsere Kunden für von uns erbrachte Leistungen Fördermittel beantragen können.

Überhaupt wirkt das Thema Fördermittel auf den ersten Blick wie ein undurchdringbarer Dschungel – Fragen über Fragen und oft führt es dazu, dass Mittel gar nicht erst in Erwägung gezogen werden und das eine oder andere Projekt nicht umgesetzt werden kann.

Wir möchten unser Wissen und unsere Erfahrungen zum Thema Förderprogramme gerne mit Ihnen teilen, weisen aber darauf hin, dass wir kein ausgewiesener Fördermittelberater sind, noch erheben wir Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit. Mit Sicherheit können wir aber vorab schon einmal betonen, dass die Fördermittel-Landschaft sehr komplex ist.

Je nach Vorhaben kommen ein oder sogar mehrere Förderprogramme in Frage und eine nähere Betrachtung im Vorfeld kann sich finanziell absolut rentieren. Teilweise können Förderprogramme auch kombiniert werden, z. B. eine Beratungsförderung mit anschließender Umsetzung, die wiederum über ein anderes Programm gefördert werden kann. So oder so lohnt es sich, Förderprogramme in Betracht zu ziehen, wenn ohnehin FuE- und/oder Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen angedacht sind. Überwiegend sind die Förderprogramme ausschließlich für KMU interessant, aber über die neue Forschungszulage können auch Unternehmen jeglicher Größe in den Genuss einer Förderung kommen.

Im Rahmen einer Zusammenarbeit mit uns unterstützen wir Sie gerne bei der Prüfung und der förderfähigen Ausgestaltung unserer Leistungen, so dass Sie im Idealfall doppelt profitieren – von unserer eigentlichen Entwicklungs- und Beratungsleistung und von Förderzuschüssen.

Der Return-on-Invest Ihrer Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen oder Ihres neuen, innovativen Produkts stellt sich so Dank staatlicher Fördermittel schon nach kürzester Zeit ein.

Geld Stapel

Die Qual der Wahl

Es gibt unzählige Fördermöglichkeiten und Förderprogramme. Alle können und wollen wir gar nicht aufzählen. Die Programme, die wir Ihnen vorstellen können, bewegen sich auf Landes- und Bundesebene. Manche haben einen regionalen Bezug, andere nicht. Fördersummen – und Quoten fallen unterschiedlich aus und auch das, was gefördert werden kann und soll, wird von den einzelnen Fördertöpfen unterschiedlich abgedeckt. Darüber hinaus werden manche Programme bereits auf andere Subventionsleistungen angerechnet – schnell wird klar: “Förderung” ist kein leichtes Unterfangen .

Hier nun ein kleiner Überblick und wer mag, kann sich unser Fördermittel White Paper am Ende der Seite dazu downloaden.

Bei der ZIM Förderung handelt es sich um ein Programm für innovative Forschung und Entwicklung

ZIM (Zentrales Innovationsprogramm Mittelstand) Projekte sind – wie der Name schon sagt – ein auf den Mittelstand zugeschnittenes Förderinstrument für betriebliche Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten zur Entwicklung innovativer Produkte, Verfahren oder technischer Dienstleistungen. In der Regel handelt es sich dabei um Projekte, die sich über ein bis mehrere Jahre erstrecken. Neben Einzelprojekten besteht auch die Möglichkeit, Kooperationsprojekte gemeinsam mit anderen Unternehmen und/oder Forschungseinrichtungen durchzuführen. Kooperationsprojekte sind dabei mit etwas höheren maximalen Fördersummen und Quoten ausgestattet und erhöhen tendenziell die Wahrscheinlichkeit der Genehmigung. Förderfähig sind dabei eigene Personalkosten, als auch Materialkosten und Fremdarbeit.

ZIM-Projekte eignen sich unserer Erfahrung nach für komplexe Produktneuentwicklungen. Wichtig ist hierbei der Innovationscharakter der Entwicklung. Andernfalls wird der Antrag höchstwahrscheinlich abgelehnt werden.

Die Beantragung wie auch Durchführung und Dokumentation der ZIM-Projekte ist durchaus aufwendig und wird in der Regel durch spezialisierte Berater begleitet, die anteilig von der Fördersumme vergütet werden. Um dieses Honorar reduziert sich natürlich die verbleibende Fördersumme.

Wichtig ist außerdem, dass mit dem Projekt erst nach Genehmigung des Antrags auf Fördermittel begonnen werden darf.

Quellen und weiterführende Informationen:

ZIM Förderung

Die Forschungszulage – flexibel Eigen- und Fremdentwicklung fördern lassen

Die Forschungszulage wird erstmals für das Jahr 2020 zu beantragen sein und ist somit ein ganz neues Instrument, zu dem es noch keine Erfahrungen aus der Praxis gibt. Die wichtigsten zwei Unterschiede zu den meisten anderen Programmen liegt in der nicht vorhandenen Größenbeschränkung der antragsberechtigten Unternehmen – die meisten anderen Programme richten sich ausschließlich an KMU – und der nachträglichen Beantragung der Forschungszulage.

Die Forschungszulage soll als Ergänzung zum ZIM Programm dienen und etwas flexibler sowie weniger aufwendig zu handhaben sein. Wir gedenken, dieses Programm in Anspruch zu nehmen und können dann hoffentlich Anfang 2021 mehr dazu sagen, ob diese Ziele erreicht wurden.

Gefördert werden ausschließlich die internen Personalkosten im Rahmen der Entwicklung und/oder extern eingekaufte Entwicklungsleistung, dann aber mit max. 15 % der Rechnungssumme.

Ein Nachteil des Programms liegt offensichtlich in der verhältnismäßig niedrigen Förderquote, weshalb wir es wirklich nur als Ergänzung im Förderbaukasten sehen. Bei entsprechender Eignung anderer Programme für ein Entwicklungsvorhaben, würden wir eher diesen den Vorzug geben.

Insbesondere für Unternehmen außerhalb der KMU Spezifikation ist es aber (mangels Alternativen) das Mittel der Wahl.

Quellen und weiterführende Informationen:

Forschungszulage

„Digital Jetzt“: Das brandneue Programm auf Bundesebene

Das Programm „Digital Jetzt“ ist in die beiden Fördermodule „Investition in digitale Technologien“ und „Investition in die Qualifizierung der Mitarbeitenden“ gegliedert. Förderfähig sind Ausgaben für Leistungen (Hardware, Software & Dienstleistungen) für Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen externer Anbieter. Eigene Personalkosten können nicht geltend gemacht werden. Es wird ab dem 07.09.2020 möglich sein, online Anträge dafür einzureichen. Entsprechend lässt sich noch wenig dazu sagen, aber aufgrund der zur Verfügung stehenden Infos klingt es äußerst vielversprechend. Die maximale Fördersumme als auch die Förderquote sind recht hoch und die Beantragung und Durchführung scheint von der Komplexität deutlich geringer als z. B. bei ZIM-Projekten zu sein.

Explizit als förderfähig genannt sind u. a. Investitionen in datengetriebene Geschäftsmodelle, Künstliche Intelligenz (KI), Cloud-Anwendungen, Big Data und Sensorik.

„Digital Jetzt“ fällt unter die „De-minimis“ Regelung[1].

Quellen und weiterführende Informationen:

Digital jetzt

[1] Diese EU Regelung besagt, dass innerhalb von drei Steuerjahren die gewährten Beihilfen insgesamt den Betrag von 200.000 Euro nicht übersteigen dürfen.

Der Digi Zuschuss: effiziente Förderung kleiner Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen in Hessen

Dieses exklusiv in Hessen beheimatete Förderprogramm ist zwar auf „nur“ 10.000 Euro begrenzt, aber mit einer Förderquote von 50 % und geringem formalen Aufwand absolut lohnenswert für kleine und mittelgroße Digitalisierungsvorhaben. Zu beachten ist weiterhin, dass dieser Zuschuss nur einmalig je Unternehmen in Anspruch genommen werden kann. Es lohnt also, den Topf dann auch möglichst vollständig auszuschöpfen.

Auch hier sind ähnlich wie bei „Digital Jetzt“ ausschließlich Kosten externer Anbieter förderfähig. Eigene Personalkosten können nicht geltend gemacht werden. Förderfähig sind Ausgaben im Bereich Hardware, Software & Dienstleistungen für Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen, wie im einfachsten Fall z. B. CRM oder auch E-Commerce Systeme. Aber auch die Digitalisierung von Logistikprozessen oder Einbindung von Sensorik und Vernetzung von Produktionssystemen ist im Rahmen dieses Programms möglich.

Auch wenn der „Digi Zuschuss“ ein hessisches Programm ist, informieren Sie sich einfach mal in Ihrem Bundesland. Nach unserem Wissensstand existieren vielfach sehr ähnliche Programme wie
z. B. das Programm „Digitalbonus“ in Bayern.

Auch der „Digi Zuschuss“ fällt unter die „De-minimis“ Regelung.

Quellen und weiterführende Informationen:

Technologieland Hessen

Wibank

„Merkblatt zum Förderprogramm Zuschuss zu Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen“ des Hessischen Ministeriums für Wirtschaft, Energie Verkehr und Wohnen vom 12.06.2020

„Go Digital“ Förderung von Beratungsleistungen rund um die Digitalisierung

Das Programm „Go Digital“ kann ausschließlich über zertifizierte Berater beantragt werden, die sich dann auch um die Abwicklung der Förderung kümmern. Somit ist die Komplexität für das geförderte Unternehmen sehr gering. Innerhalb des Förderprogramms gibt es die drei Module “Digitalisierte Geschäftsprozesse”, “Digitale Markterschließung” und “IT-Sicherheit”. Gefördert werden ausschließlich Beratungsleistungen, keine Umsetzung entsprechender Digitalisierungsmaßnahmen.

Autorisierte Beratungsunternehmen für die unterschiedlichen Module können online über eine interaktive Beraterlandkarte gesucht wurden. Auch dieses Programm fällt unter die „De-minimis“ Regelung.

 

Quellen und weiterführende Informationen:

Go Digital

„Digitalisierungsberatung“ des RKW Hessen

Die „Digitalisierungsberatung“ ist dem „Go Digital“ Programm auf Bundesebene recht ähnlich. So werden auch ausschließlich Beratungsleistungen im Zusammenhang mit Digitalisierungsvorhaben gefördert, die tatsächliche Umsetzung und Anschaffung von Hard- oder Software ist im Rahmen dieses Programms nicht förderfähig. Die Antragstellung und Projektdokumentation wird hier ebenso durch zertifizierte Berater vorgenommen. Wenn man seinen Wunschberater noch nicht gefunden hat, kann man sich problemlos an das RKW wenden, die kompetente Berater vermitteln können. Insofern ist das Programm wenig komplex und eignet sich gut für kleinere Projekte und Digitalisierungsvorhaben.
Wir haben uns im Rahmen dieses Programms z. B. hinsichtlich der Digitalisierung im Marketing beraten lassen. Auch dieses Programm fällt unter die „De-minimis“ Regelung.

Quellen und weiterführende Informationen:

RKW Hessen