Published -Show allLPWAN- 3 Min. reading time

Less energy consumption thanks to automatic heating control

The Osan birthplace is not only a very personal project, because it is a "family project" of our managing director in the broadest sense, but it was also an excellent test object for automatic heating control using LoRaWAN in combination with our IoT platform, the m2m Germany Cockpit.

Request advice now and find a solution

The heating situation in the Osan birth center before

The birthing center comprises a total of 10 rooms, including several treatment rooms, two birthing rooms and a course room.

To make the expectant mothers feel comfortable, the rooms are heated slightly more than is usual in offices, classrooms etc., for example. The comfortable temperature in the treatment and birthing rooms is around 22 °C and sometimes higher during births.

Due to the constantly irregular occupancy of the rooms, efficient heating was a real challenge until then. With spontaneous postponements of appointments, unforeseen births at night and the daily stress of midwifery, it sometimes happened that the staff forgot to turn the heating down or switch it off again. As a result, the heating in an empty room sometimes ran unnecessarily for days.

In order to save costs and energy permanently and largely automatically, an automatic heating control system could provide the ideal remedy here.

The solution: automatic heating control via LoRaWAN

LoRaWAN was quickly chosen as a suitable wireless technology for implementing the project. A LoRaWAN network of this size can be set up quickly and is cost-effective. In addition, the LoRaWAN signals also penetrate walls and transmit over several floors. This was a decisive criterion here, as the rooms extend over a total of three floors. A single LoRaWAN indoor gateway is sufficient for this. A total of 14 LoRaWAN radiator thermostats were installed in various rooms to control the heating.

Another challenge arose during the coronavirus pandemic: keeping the risk of a Covid19 infection as low as possible when several people are in a room for a long period of time. The installation of CO2 sensors, also via LoRaWAN, was therefore an obvious choice for monitoring indoor air quality.

LoRaWAN door contact sensors were also installed on the balcony doors, among other things. These detect whether a door is open or closed. This is not only another way to save unnecessary heating costs and energy consumption in case of doubt, but also increases security.

Implementation in the m2m Germany Cockpit

Two dashboards have been set up in the m2m Germany Cockpit to provide a quick overview of all relevant parameters such as room temperature, humidity, CO2 content and the status of the heating and balcony doors. The good thing is that the dashboards can be accessed not only on a laptop, but also on a smartphone.

One dashboard monitors the room temperature, humidity and heating control, while the other is used to monitor the CO2 content in the rooms.

The rule engine was used to set up automatic control of the heating thermostats and alarms:

Monitoring the room temperature and heaters

The dashboard provides an overview of the target and actual temperature of the rooms. In addition, the heating can be controlled with a simple click and the room can be heated to a predefined temperature. It is also easy to reset the temperature to the setpoint temperature with a click. For even more extensive automation, the Rule Engine has been used to define specific rules for the individual days of the week and times of day. This means that if staff forget to reset the heating manually, this happens automatically.

Monitoring indoor air quality

The CO2 values of all monitored rooms are displayed as a speedometer on this dashboard. If the CO2 level exceeds the critical value of 1000 ppm, an alarm is sent by e-mail. The CO2 level can also be read directly from the sensor display.

What it brings

  • Minimization of a possible risk of infection
  • Reduction in energy consumption for heating (gas)
  • Reduction in heating costs

Technical implementation

Component Hardware/software used
LoRaWAN gateway UG65 LoRaWAN Indoor Gateway (Milesight IoT)
Radiator thermostats Vicki LoRaWAN radiator thermostat (MClimate)
CO2 sensors AM103 LoRaWAN environmental sensor for temperature, humidity, CO2 (Milesight IoT)
Door contact sensors WS301 LoRaWAN door and window contact (Milesight IoT)
LoRaWAN network server LORIOT
IoT platform m2m Germany Cockpit
  • Ever heard of the WELL Building Standard?

    If you think of wellness when you read Well, you're not far wrong. However, the WELL Building Standard...

  • Partner Thermokon

    Thermokon and m2m Germany: LoRaWAN partners for innovative building monitoring

    The partnership between m2m Germany and Thermokon marks a significant step in the development and provision of LoRaWAN sensor solutions for building monitoring. Because this cooperation...

  • new partner honeywell

    Fit for IIoT and Ex applications with Honeywell

    We are delighted to be able to expand our partner network through our collaboration with Honeywell Germany. The IIoT is constantly evolving, with numerous new technologies emerging every...

Veröffentlicht ·Alles anzeigenLPWAN· 3 Min. Lesezeit

Weniger Energieverbrauch dank automatischer Heizungssteuerung

Das Geburtshaus Osan ist nicht nur ein ganz persönliches Projekt, weil es im weitesten Sinne ein „Familienprojekt“ unseres Geschäftsführers ist, sondern es bot sich auch hervorragend als Testobjekt an für eine automatische Heizungssteuerung mittels LoRaWAN in Kombination mit unserer IoT-Plattform, dem m2m Germany Cockpit.

Jetzt Beratung anfragen und Lösung finden

Die Heizsituation im Geburtshaus Osan vorher

Das Geburtshaus umfasst insgesamt 10 Räume, darunter mehrere Behandlungszimmer, zwei Geburtszimmer und einen Kursraum.

Damit sich die werdenden Mütter wohl fühlen, werden die Räume etwas stärker beheizt als es beispielsweise bei Büros, Klassenzimmern etc. üblich ist. Die Wohlfühltemperatur in den Behandlungs- und Geburtszimmern liegt hier bei ca. 22 °C und während Geburten auch schon mal höher.

Aufgrund der stets unregelmäßigen Belegung der Räume war effizientes Heizen bis dahin eine echte Herausforderung. Bei spontanen Terminverschiebungen, unvorhergesehenen Geburten in der Nacht und im alltäglichen Hebammenstress kam es hin und wieder vor, dass das Personal vergaß, die Heizungen wieder herunterzudrehen bzw. auszuschalten. So lief die Heizung in einem leeren Zimmer manchmal tagelang unnötig.

Um dauerhaft und weitgehend automatisiert Kosten und Energie zu sparen, konnte eine automatische Heizungssteuerung hier ideale Abhilfe schaffen.

Die Lösung: eine automatische Heizungssteuerung via LoRaWAN

Für Umsetzung des Vorhabens fiel die Wahl schnell auf LoRaWAN als geeignete Funktechnologie. Ein LoRaWAN-Netzwerk diesen Umfangs ist schnell aufgebaut und kostengünstig. Außerdem durchdringen die LoRaWAN-Signale auch Wände und funken über mehrere Etagen. Dies war hier ein entscheidendes Kriterium, da sich die Räume über insgesamt drei Etagen erstrecken. Dafür reicht sogar ein einziges LoRaWAN Indoor-Gateway. Zur Steuerung der Heizungen wurden insgesamt 14 LoRaWAN-Heizkörperthermostate in diversen Räumen installiert.

Eine andere Herausforderung kam bereits im Zuge der Corona-Pandemie auf: nämlich das Ansteckungsrisiko einer Covid19-Infektion möglichst gering zu halten, wenn sich mehrere Personen über einen längeren Zeitraum in einem Raum aufhalten. Daher bot sich die Installation von CO2-Sensoren, ebenfalls via LoRaWAN, zur Überwachung der Raumluftqualität an.

Außerdem wurden unter anderem an den Balkontüren LoRaWAN-Türkontaktsensoren angebracht. Diese erkennen, ob eine Tür offen oder geschlossen ist. Dies ist nicht nur eine weitere Möglichkeit, im Zweifelsfall unnötige Heizkosten und unnötigen Energieverbrauch zu sparen, sondern sie erhöhen auch die Sicherheit.

Umsetzung im m2m Germany Cockpit

Für einen schnellen Überblick über alle relevanten Parameter wie Raumtemperatur, Luftfeuchte, CO2-Gehalt sowie den Status der Heizungen und Balkontüren wurden zwei Dashboards im m2m Germany Cockpit eingerichtet. Das Gute: Die Dashboards lassen sich nicht nur am Laptop, sondern auch mobil auf dem Smartphone aufrufen.

Ein Dashboard umfasst die Überwachung der Raumtemperatur, Luftfeuchte und Steuerung der Heizungen, das andere dient der Überwachung des CO2-Gehalts in den Räumen.

Mithilfe der Rule Engine wurden die automatische Steuerung der Heizungsthermostate sowie die Alarme eingerichtet:

Überwachung der Raumtemperatur und Heizungen

Das Dashboard gibt einen Überblick über Soll- und Ist-Temperatur der Räume. Zudem kann die Heizung durch einen einfachen Klick gesteuert und der Raum auf eine vordefinierte Temperatur beheizt werden. Auch das Zurückstellen auf die Solltemperatur ist bequem per Klick möglich. Für eine noch weiterreichende Automatisierung wurden mithilfe der Rule Engine bestimmte Regeln für die einzelnen Wochentage und Tageszeiten festgelegt. D. h. vergisst das Personal, die Heizung manuell zurückzustellen, passiert dies automatisch.

Überwachung der Raumluftqualität

Auf diesem Dashboard werden die CO2-Werte von allen überwachten Räumen als Tacho angezeigt. Überschreitet der CO2-Gehalt den kritischen Wert von 1000 ppm, wird ein Alarm per E-Mail gesendet. Daneben kann der CO2-Gehalt aber auch direkt am Displays des Sensors abgelesen werden.

Was es bringt

  • Minimierung eines möglichen Ansteckungsrisikos
  • Einsparung des Energieverbrauchs bei den Heizungen (Gas)
  • Verringerung der Heizkosten

Technische Umsetzung

Komponente Eingesetzte Hardware/Software
LoRaWAN-Gateway UG65 LoRaWAN Indoor Gateway (Milesight IoT)
Heizkörperthermostate Vicki LoRaWAN Heizkörperthermostat (MClimate)
CO2-Sensoren AM103 LoRaWAN Umgebungssensor für Temperatur, Luftfeuchte, CO2 (Milesight IoT)
Türkontaktsensoren WS301 LoRaWAN-Tür- und Fensterkontakt (Milesight IoT)
LoRaWAN-Netzwerkserver LORIOT
IoT-Plattform m2m Germany Cockpit
  • 450-MHz-Funknetz für krisenfeste Kommunikation

    Im Zuge der Energiewende werden die Herausforderungen für Energie- und Wasserversorger immer vielfältiger wie z. B. eine dezentrale und unregelmäßige Stromeinspeisung aus erneuerbaren Energien,…

  • Toplist Telematik 2024

    2024 TOPLIST Telematik

    Wir haben erneut das Signet TOPLIST-Anbieter Telematik erhalten! Die jährliche Prüfung der Fachjury des Telematik-Marktes haben wir mit Bravour bestanden.

  • webinar MClimate

    Partnerwebinar: Effektiver Einsatz von LoRaWAN-Technologie in Smart Buildings

    Warum sind LoRaWAN-Sensoren die optimale Lösungen für Smart Buildings? Im Hinblick auf den Klimawandel und die Energiewende sind Lösungen für intelligente Gebäude sehr gefragt.