Energy controlling

Energy - an expensive "pleasure

Since this spring at the latest, the topic of energy has been present, often too present when it comes to costs. Politicians have also reacted, among other things with the Energy Saving Ordinance that came into force on 01.09. this year.

For example, the maximum temperature limit in workplaces in public properties is set at 19°C (with the exception of social facilities, clinics and care facilities). Common areas in which people do not regularly spend time remain unheated.

Relevant for companies: The minimum temperature of workplaces will be reduced to 19° C. In the residential sector, private households must be sufficiently informed by operators about current consumption and expected costs to be able to take savings measures independently.

Heating control via LoRaWAN

The biggest driver of energy costs continues to be heating. The importance of intelligent individual room control cannot be emphasized strongly enough. Intelligent radiator thermostats such as Vicki from MClimate are ideal for this purpose. This can be integrated into a LoRaWAN network and thus evaluated and controlled within the framework of central applications, enabling savings of up to 30% in heating energy and thus costs. Of course, the set temperature can be controlled via the built-in temperature sensor, but above all, intelligent, networked functions can be implemented, such as controlling the heating depending on the room occupancy or lowering the temperature when a window is opened. Whether the temperature can still be changed locally at the thermostat or only centrally controlled via stored logics is completely up to you. The following video shows how easy Vicki is to install:

Radiator thermostat

Create added value

Although the Vicky has already integrated a comprehensive logic for heating control, it becomes really exciting in the context of a more comprehensive control system that includes additional sensors and is based in the background on a simple but powerful visualization and logic platform. We would be happy to advise you on this.

Further sensors in connection with the heating control

AM307 Room sensor
Room climate sensorA multifunctional sensor for monitoring indoor climate with div. parameters such as temperature, humidity, light, CO2 concentration, HCHO/O3 content, TVOC, air pressure, PM2.5, PM10 and motion.
WS301 Window contact
Window Magnetic ContactA simple magnetic contact that detects door or window openings and provides the data via LoRaWAN.
VS121 Workplace Sensor
Occupancy sensorAs a workstation sensor, it is used to monitor occupancy and control utilization in modern workspaces. It supports up to 12 mapped regions for detection with a detection rate of up to 95%.

LoRaWAN Gateways and Integration into Building Management

Of course, a LoRaWAN network requires a LoRaWAN gateway and a LoRaWAN network server. Especially in the building sector, however, we would like to present two special solutions here, namely gateways that already have the LoRaWAN Network Server integrated. In our eyes, this is a practical solution for local installations, especially if the data is to be made available to a local Building Management System (BMS).

Helium gateway ug65 from Milesight

On the one hand, the Milesight UG65 offers an integrated LoRaWAN network server and even an integrated Node Red. This makes it very easy to implement very individual integrations and connect a wide variety of systems. Of course, the classic packet forwarders can also be used to work with a LoRaWAN network server such as Actility, Loriot or melita.io.

Wattsense Box

On the other hand, the Wattsense Box. In addition to an integrated LoRaWAN Network Server, it offers "out-of-the-box" extensive integration into various building management systems. The integrated protocol converter unifies more than 10 field communication protocols, including Modbus TCP/IP, Modbus RTU, BACnet IP, BACnet IP Server, M-Bus, wM-Bus, LON FT10, LON IP-852, LPB - Local Process Bus, Diematic and KNX.

Energiecontrolling

Energie – ein teures „Vergnügen“

Spätestens seit diesem Frühjahr ist das Thema Energie präsent, häufig zu präsent wenn es an die Kosten geht. Auch die Politik hat reagiert, unter anderem mit der am 01.09. diesen Jahres in Kraft getretenen Energieeinsparverordnung.

So wird u.a. die Temperaturhöchstgrenze in Arbeitsstätten in öffentlichen Liegenschaften auf 19°C festgelegt (ausgenommen Soziale Einrichtungen, Kliniken und Pflegeeinrichtungen). Gemeinschaftliche Flächen in denen man sich nicht regelmäßig aufhält, bleiben ungeheizt.

Für Unternehmen relevant: Die Mindesttemperatur von Arbeitsstätten wird auf 19° C gesenkt. Im Wohnungsbereich müssen Privathaushalte über den aktuellen Verbrauch und die voraussichtlichen Kosten durch die Betreiber ausreichend informiert werden um selbstständig Einsparmaßnahmen ergreifen zu können.

Heizungsregelung per LoRaWAN

Größter Treiber bei den Energiekosten ist nach wie vor die Heizung. Die Bedeutung einer intelligenten Einzelraumsteuerung kann hierbei gar nicht stark genug betont werden. Dazu bieten sich intelligente Heizkörperthermostate wie z.B. Vicki von MClimate an. Dieses lässt sich in ein LoRaWAN Netz einbinden und so im Rahmen zentraler Applikationen auswerten und steuern womit Einsparungen von bis zu 30% der Heizenergie und damit Kosten möglich sind. Natürlich lässt sich so die Soll-Temperatur über den eingebauten Temperatursensor steuern aber vor allem auch intelligente, vernetzte Funktionen umsetzen wie die Steuerung der Heizung in Abhängigkeit von der Raumbelegung oder eine Absenkung der Temperatur wenn ein Fenster geöffnet wird. Ob die Temperatur noch lokal am Thermostat verändert werden kann oder nur eine zentrale Steuerung über hinterlegte Logiken erfolgt, ist dabei vollständig Ihnen überlassen. Wie einfach Vicki zu installieren ist, zeigt das folgende Video:

Heizkörper Thermostat

Mehrwerte schaffen

Zwar hat das Vicky schon eine umfassende Logik zur Heizungssteuerung integriert, so richtig spannend wird es aber wie schon beschrieben im Kontext eines umfassenderen Steuerungssystems welches weitere Sensoren enthält und im Hintergrund auf eine simple aber leistungsstarke Visualisierungs- und Logikplattform aufsetzt. Hierzu beraten wir Sie gerne.

Weitere Sensoren in Verbindung mit der Heizungssteuerung

AM307 Raumsensor
RaumklimasensorEin multifunktionaler Sensor zur Überwachung des Raumklimas mit div. Parametern wie Temperatur, Feuchtigkeit, Licht, CO2-Konzentration, HCHO/O3-Gehalt, TVOC, Luftdruck, PM2.5, PM10 und Bewegung.
WS301 Fensterkontakt
Fenster MagnetkontaktEin simpler Magnetkontakt der Tür oder Fensteröffnungen detektiert und die Daten per LoRaWAN bereitstellt.
VS121 Workplace Sensor
PräsenzsensorAls Arbeitsplatzsensor dient er der Überwachung der Belegung und der Kontrolle der Auslastung in modernen Arbeitsbereichen. Er unterstützt bis zu 12 kartierte Regionen für die Erkennung mit einer Erkennungsrate von bis zu 95 %.

LoRaWAN Gateways und die Integration ins Building Management

Für ein LoRaWAN Netz braucht es natürlich ein LoRaWAN Gateway und einen LoRaWAN Network Server. Gerade im Gebäudebereich wollen wir hier aber zwei besondere Lösungen vorstellen, nämlich Gateways, die den LoRaWAN Network Server bereits integriert haben. In unseren Augen eine praktische Lösung für lokale Installationen, insbesondere wenn die Daten einem lokalen Building Management System (BMS) zur Verfügung gestellt werden sollen.

Helium gateway ug65 von Milesight

Auf der einen Seite, das Milesight UG65. Es bietet einen integrierten LoRaWAN Network Server und darüber hinaus sogar ein integriertes Node-Red. So lassen sich sehr einfach ganz individuelle Integrationen umsetzen und unterschiedlichste Systeme anbinden. Natürlich können aber auch die klassischen Packet Forwarder genutzt werden, um mit einem LoRaWAN Network Server wie Actility, Loriot oder melita.io zu arbeiten.

Wattsense Box

Auf der anderen Seite, die Wattsense Box. Sie bietet neben einem integrierten LoRaWAN Network Server „out-of-the-box“ eine umfangreiche Integration in diverse Building Management Systeme. Der integrierte Protokollkonverter vereinheitlicht mehr als 10 Feldkommunikations-Protokolle, darunter Modbus TCP/IP, Modbus RTU, BACnet IP, BACnet IP Server, M-Bus, wM-Bus, LON FT10, LON IP-852, LPB – Local Process Bus, Diematic und KNX.