Published -Show allLPWAN- 2 Min. reading time

Smart Farming - For resource-conserving climate protection

What is Smart Farming?

Smart farming is the use of modern information and communication technologies (ICT) in agriculture. You could say smart farming encompasses the digitization of agriculture - some also refer to it as the "Third Green Revolution". After plant breeding and genetic engineering, modern information technologies are now entering the agricultural industry to automate various processes and use resources more efficiently. In short, smart farming means intelligent communication and networking of equipment, machines and systems.

In addition to collecting a wide variety of measurement data via sensors, smart farming also involves robotics. This involves the use of agricultural robots equipped with artificial intelligence (AI). The spectrum of sensors for smart farming applications is broad: From temperature monitoring in barns and silos, soil moisture measurements and control of irrigation systems to CO2 monitoring and asset tracking.

Ultimately, the measures for Agriculture 4.0 pursue a very clear goal: to make processes easier to control, regulate and measure. In addition, agricultural equipment and vehicles can be networked with each other, in line with the ideas of the IoT (Internet of Things), and provide even more transparency and efficiency. An important aspect of smart farming is also the use of renewable energies, which aims to protect the climate while conserving resources. Smart farming has the potential to actively shape a more productive and sustainable agriculture through its precise and resource-efficient approach.

LPWAN for Smart Farming

Without collecting data, there is no basis for forecasts and decision-making tools to optimize agricultural processes. However, in order to be able to collect data, a certain infrastructure is required. If this is available, e.g. through access to the mobile network, nothing stands in the way of optimization through digitization. But what happens if this access is missing - if the infrastructure is not available? Is that the end of digitized agriculture?

No, because there are secure and resilient alternatives, such as LPWAN. LoRaWAN® stands for Long Range Wide Area Network(LPWAN). An LPWAN enables energy-efficient transmission of data over long distances.

The LoRa® radio standard used was developed specifically for the Internet of things (IoT). With LoRaWAN® , several hundred sensors can be managed within a network and their sensor data processed. Depending on the application, sensors can be operated for up to 10 years without battery replacement, which significantly limits the maintenance effort.

The secure, intelligent LoRaWAN® infrastructure is the basis for diverse applications in different market segments, including smart farming.

Are you planning to get started in digital agriculture?

From single sensors via LoRa gateways to managed LoRaWAN networks including LoRaWAN network servers, we can advise and support you across the entire range. If desired, we can also support you in the planning, site selection and commissioning of your own LoRaWAN network. As a LoRaWAN Full Service Provider we are always at your side.

Do you still have questions about LPWAN technologies? Then we will be happy to advise you.

  • Ever heard of the WELL Building Standard?

    If you think of wellness when you read Well, you're not far wrong. However, the WELL Building Standard...

  • Partner Thermokon

    Thermokon and m2m Germany: LoRaWAN partners for innovative building monitoring

    The partnership between m2m Germany and Thermokon marks a significant step in the development and provision of LoRaWAN sensor solutions for building monitoring. Because this cooperation...

  • new partner honeywell

    Fit for IIoT and Ex applications with Honeywell

    We are delighted to be able to expand our partner network through our collaboration with Honeywell Germany. The IIoT is constantly evolving, with numerous new technologies emerging every...

Veröffentlicht ·Alles anzeigenLPWAN· 2 Min. Lesezeit

Smart Farming – Für ressourcenschonenden Klimaschutz

Was ist Smart Farming?

Unter Smart Farming versteht man den Gebrauch von modernen Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien (ICT) in der Landwirtschaft. Man könnte sagen, Smart Farming umfasst die Digitalisierung der Landwirtschaft – einige bezeichnen es auch als “Dritte Grüne Revolution”. Nach Pflanzenzüchtung und Gentechnik halten jetzt moderne Informationstechnologien Einzug in die Agrarwirtschaft, um verschieden Prozesse zu automatisieren und Ressourcen effizienter zu nutzen. Kurz gesagt, Smart Farming bedeutet intelligente Kommunikation und Vernetzung von Geräten, Maschinen und Systemen.

Neben dem Sammeln unterschiedlichster Messdaten via Sensorik bezieht Smart Farming auch das Thema Robotik mit ein. Dabei kommen landwirtschaftliche Roboter zum Einsatz, welche mit einer künstlichen Intelligenz ausgestattet sind (KI). Bei den Sensoren für Smart-Farming-Anwendungen ist das Spektrum weit gefasst: Vom Temperatur-Monitoring in Ställen und Silos, über Bodenfeuchte-Messungen und Steuerung von Bewässerungsanlagen bis hin zu CO2 Monitoring. und Asset-Tracking.

Letztendlich verfolgen die Maßnahmen für eine Landwirtschaft 4.0 ein ganz klares Ziel: Prozesse einfacher zu steuern, zu regeln und messbar zu machen. Zudem können landwirtschaftliche -Geräte und -Fahrzeuge miteinander vernetzt werden, ganz im Gedankengut des IoT (Internet of Things) und für noch mehr Transparenz und Effizienz sorgen. Ein wichtiger Aspekt des Smart Farming ist auch der Einsatz von erneuerbare Energien, wodurch ein ressourcenschonender Klimaschutz angestrebt wird. Smart Farming hat das Potential durch seinen präzisen und ressourceneffizienten Ansatz, eine produktivere und nachhaltigere Landwirtschaft aktiv mitzugestalten.

LPWAN für Smart Farming

Ohne das Sammeln von Daten gibt es keine Basis für Prognosen und Entscheidungshilfen, um landwirtschaftliche Prozesse zu optimieren. Um jedoch Daten erheben zu können, bedarf es einer gewissen Infrastruktur. Ist diese vorhanden, z.B. durch einen Zugang ans Mobilfunknetz, steht einer Optimierung durch Digitalisierung nichts im Wege. Doch was, wenn genau dieser Zugang fehlt – die Infrastruktur nicht zur Verfügung steht? Ist das dann das Aus für eine digitalisierte Landwirtschaft?

Nein, denn es gibt sichere und belastbare Alternativen, wie beispielsweise LPWAN. LoRaWAN® steht für Long Range Wide Area Network (LPWAN). Ein LPWAN ermöglicht ein energieeffizientes Senden von Daten über lange Strecken.

Der verwendete Funkstandard LoRa® wurde speziell für das Internet of things (IoT) entwickelt. Mit LoRaWAN® können mehrere hundert Sensoren innerhalb eines Netzwerkes verwaltet und deren Sensordaten verarbeitet werden. Je nach Anwendung können Sensoren bis zu 10 Jahren ohne Batteriewechsel betrieben werden, was den Wartungsaufwand erheblich einschränkt.

Die sichere, intelligente LoRaWAN® Infrastruktur ist die Grundlage für vielfältige Anwendungen in unterschiedlichen Marktsegmenten, unter anderem für Smart Farming.

Sie planen den Einstieg in die digitale Landwirtschaft?

Vom einzelnen Sensor über LoRa Gateways bis hin zum gemanagten LoRaWAN-Netzwerk inklusive LoRaWAN-Network Server können wir Sie über die gesamte Bandbreite beraten und betreuen. Auf Wunsch unterstützen wir Sie auch bei der Planung, Standortauswahl und Inbetriebnahme Ihres eigenen LoRaWAN-Netzwerks. Als LoRaWAN Full Service Provider sind wir stets an Ihrer Seite.

Sie haben noch Fragen rund um das Thema LPWAN-Technologien? Dann beraten wir Sie gern.

  • Partner Thermokon

    Thermokon und m2m Germany: LoRaWAN Partner für innovatives Gebäudemonitoring

    Die Partnerschaft zwischen m2m Germany und Thermokon markiert einen bedeutenden Schritt in der Entwicklung und Bereitstellung von LoRaWAN-Sensoriklösungen für das Gebäudemonitoring. Denn diese Zusammenarbeit…

  • neuer partner honeywell

    Mit Honeywell fit für IIoT und Ex-Anwendungen

    Wir freuen uns, dass wir unser Partnernetzwerk durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Honeywell Deutschland erweitern können. Das IIoT entwickelt sich ständig weiter, täglich entstehen zahlreiche…

  • Personenzählung

    Personenzählung in Innenräumen: Ein Schlüssel zur intelligenten Raum- und Arbeitsplatznutzung

    In der modernen Welt, wo die Optimierung von Raum und Ressourcen immer wichtiger wird, spielt die Personenzählung in Innenräumen eine entscheidende Rolle. Diese Technologie,…