Solutions that inspire

We like to respond to a "can't" with "there is no such thing." Take a look at some of our customer projects to get an overview of our IoT/ Industry 4.0 solutions that have already been implemented. Whether remote monitoring, retrofit, asset tracking or customized product development - we will find the right solution for your application

Logo of ViSy Visual Systems
System solution for active safety around special and disposal vehicles

Safety in special and disposal vehicles is the be-all and end-all. Active safety brings the additional plus - not only for the driver, but for everyone: passers-by, citizens and employees. The ViSy GmbH develops 3D reversing assistance systems, which serve as a system solution for active safety, all around the waste disposal vehicle. ViSy GmbH already uses the embedded Linux-based telematics platform Owa3x for this purpose. The telematics platform/telematics unit plays a central role in driver assistance systems as a node where all data converge, are coordinated and evaluated. Each assistance system can therefore only be as powerful as the installed unit allows.

Intelligent vehicle networking via owa4x:

Garbage truck that is loaded

ViSy has set itself the task of increasing the security around special vehicles, such as garbage trucks, for citizens and employees in order to ensure maximum security. In the course of this, the already existing assistance system is constantly being further developed and adapted to new requirements and newly available technologies. In the course of further development, it has become clear that the features of the currently used Owa3x can be used for additional requirements like diagnostic functions were no longer sufficient. ViSy was looking for an extended platform that offers more freedom in programming, more CAN interfaces and a generally higher performance capacity. In addition, the new platform solution should be as compact as the Owa3x, be approved for installation in vehicles, have at least IP67 protection class and, if possible, include all other features of Owa3x, such as mobile radio, GNSS, Bluetooth Smart/WiFi, programmable sensors etc..


In particular, the new platform:

  • Have more CAN bus interfaces
  • A enable higher data transfer speed for data transfer (3G)
  • And guarantee the accuracy of the GPS signal

Whatever it takes:

  • Increasing safety
  • Reducing development and adaptation costs
  • Connection of the new reverse cadastre function
ViSy Case as PDF

Logo AKKA Technology and MBtech
Remote Monitoring - Detect problems early and increase productivity.

Production processes should be effective and efficient. In order to achieve these goals, the procedures within the process must be monitored and adjusted if necessary. Remote monitoring involves statistical

data of the process to be monitored or of a plant involved in the process, collected, stored and a corresponding data access is enabled. The access to the data can be permanent or temporary and can be remote. Only optimally coordinated processes are economically viable and lead to the desired effects.

Reduced prototype development time in the automotive industry through remote monitoring:

Prototype of a new car covered with the typical sample film

Time is a decisive factor in the developer scene. New types of cars have to be tested intensively - usually for 12 months and that in 24/7 operation. The faster and more optimally test results and measurement data can be evaluated, the better and faster a development can "reach market maturity".

  • Remote monitoring transmits measurement data in real time or interval-controlled - manual data transfer when changing drivers is no longer necessary
  • All collected data is available simultaneously to a wide variety of national and international departments - no more time lost on the internal communication level
  • Problems detected early can be responded to more directly and insufficient test results can be repeated more quickly

Whatever it takes:

  • Increasing efficiency
  • Reduction of development costs
  • Optimized test phase
  • Fast time-to-market.
MB Tech Case as PDF
Large industrial plant

Remote Monitoring & Controlling - Remote maintenance and remote control for optimized productivity

Manufacturing processes are subject to economic and safety factors. In order to be able to meet both aspects, permanent monitoring of all machines and systems involved in the manufacturing process, as well as direct control access to them, is recommended. If monitoring and control can also be mastered remotely, this is called remote monitoring and remote controlling.

Both enable a company to optimize its manufacturing processes, but only if the machines to be networked speak a common "language".

Intelligent machine networking in the petrochemical industry for more efficiency and transparency:

Time is money - especially in industry. That's why both service staff and plant managers must be able to access the machines and systems of a manufacturing process at any time and from any location.

It is important that all machines and systems involved can be connected with each other independent of manufacturer - no matter whether they are machines from the old stock or new acquisitions - networked machines need a common "language" - thanks to a protocol converter - a kind of machine-language translator - remote monitoring & controlling is possible throughout.

  • Protocol converters combine the most diverse machine protocols with one another and allow common device communication
  • Remote monitoring is a continuous monitoring of machines and plants via mobile phone connection - the plant status is visible at any time and from any place.
  • Access to networked control units via mobile router connection and corresponding cloud solution ensures a secure production process.
  • In the event of malfunctions, maintenance work or problems in terms of machine utilisation, the machines and systems can be accessed directly.
  • Assignable access and access rights create security and transparency

Whatever it takes:

  • Early fault detection
  • Reduction of downtime and production costs
  • Resource-saving use for man and machine, reduced personnel costs & retrofit
  • Increase in productivity
Professional article: Intelligent machine networking as PDF

Logo Spier Fahrzeugwerk

Smart asset tracking for optimized production processes

Optimizing processes starts where something can be implemented faster, better and with less effort. Optimization has become existential in trade and production. The goal is to reduce production costs and make processes more efficient - digital, smart solutions can achieve this. For example, if you always know where, when and which object involved in the production process is located, this can lead to a considerable reduction in time and costs.

Track & Trace of objects on company premises with a LoRa® radio solution:

A manufacturer of vehicle bodies, for example, has 130,000 square metres of factory premises with a number of vehicles of the same appearance that have to be transferred from one processing station to the next.

Due to the missing marking, finding a vehicle is time-consuming. However, as soon as a clear assignment is possible thanks to a smart radio sensor, the respective vehicle can be permanently located. The sensor tag itself is not permanently installed in the vehicle, but is simply placed in the driver's cab at the start of construction and can be reused several times. The radio connection is made via a long range network, which was installed on the site especially for this purpose - sounds like a lot of work, but it's not: an appropriately positioned gateway is sufficient to cover large areas. The vehicle can be located clearly and quickly at any place on the premises, in the production halls and in their vicinity at any time within a very short time. Mix-ups are impossible. The data, which the tags continuously collect and pass on via the LoRa® network, flows directly into an IoT software platform where it is visualised and can be further processed accordingly.

  • Sensor tags locate the tagged object on the factory premises - each vehicle can be identified at any time
  • All sensor data is centrally collected in the IoT software platform and can also be accessed via mobile devices such as smartphones, tablets, etc
  • Production processes can be better scheduled
  • The sensor tag can also be used as a kind of "invisible fence" - if a vehicle or object leaves the defined area, this is immediately reported

Whatever it takes:

  • Time saving due to exact location of the object
  • Reduce waiting times at the individual production stations
  • Increase in productivity
  • Reduction of production costs
  • Increase safety standards
Spier Case as PDF

Logo of Olympus

Technology Integration into an existing control system

Companies are often faced with the challenge of adapting existing products or already developed solutions to new technology standards. Then the question arises whether an in-house development department has sufficient resources - both in terms of personnel and knowledge. Radio applications in particular require expert knowledge in order to develop a future-proof and feasible solution. This is where we, m2m Germany, and our development department come in.

Music for the surgeon - Development of a Bluetooth streaming solution for operating rooms

When it comes to technical enquiries from the medical field, things are usually tricky - after all, it is necessary to meet the standards set for this purpose - especially when it comes to technical integration in operating theatres. Olympus Surgical Technologies approached m2m Germany with an unusual problem. The company was looking for a suitable streaming solution for operating theatres that would be compatible with the existing Olympus integration solution.

The medical integration solution from Olympus has a wide range of interfaces to a variety of areas - from video management for live videos, documentation for information management, to the control of all medical equipment and peripheral systems in an operating theatre. And it was precisely in this system that a new audio streaming solution was to be integrated. The aim of the new solution was to integrate a solution that is independent of the music data carrier manufacturer into the integrated Olympus OR solution and to be able to operate the streaming via touch screen of the central control unit. The basic prerequisite for this is international certification of the new solution, so that it can actually be integrated into the existing audio streaming solution and distributed internationally.

  • Bluetooth is a manufacturer-independent technology and is almost standardised in devices such as MP3 players and smartphones
  • With Bluetooth there are no mobile phone costs
  • Choosing a flush-mounted socket outlet for the design ensures high hygiene standards
  • inside an operating room.
  • The existing Olympus integration solution has a Bluetooth interface, which allows access via touch screen.

Whatever it takes:

  • Expansion of the own product - "State-of-the-art
  • Reduction of development and personnel costs
  • "Time-To-Market" effect through certified development with corresponding country approval
Olympus Case as PDF

Bus tours Astl LogoInternet connection of a complete vehicle fleet

The traditional company Astl has been offering coach tours throughout Europe for more than 50 years. The company relies on the latest technology in the most modern vehicles. The company's fleet comprises a total of 25 coaches, with space for 58 - 75 guests.

Today's travelers take the on-board kitchen, sleeping seats and their own on-board toilet for granted and also expect to be offered a passenger WLAN. Guests want to be able to go online anytime and anywhere, regardless of their location. The elimination of the "Stoererhaftung" (Breach of Duty of Care) has made the implementation attractive for Astl Reisen. To meet the requirements, the company was looking for a simple and secure solution for connecting its bus fleet to the Internet.

Astl coach fleetMobile Internet in the coach

Not all Internet is the same - especially not when it comes to mobile use. In particular, if WLAN is to be available to the user free of charge at all times, the operator must pay attention to various factors. As fail-safe as possible and with integrated protection for any roaming costs that may arise, and also powerful, are common features when connecting vehicles. The bus travel company Astl relies on a secure LTE connection via E1 certified vehicle router for its modern long-distance coaches. It is important that the Mobile router can be integrated trouble-free into the on-board technology and meets the desired performance.

Whatever it takes:

  • Increased customer satisfaction
  • Broadened range of services (streaming services / on-board entertainment)
  • Vehicle Tracking
  • Acquisition - and evaluation of telemetry data
Astl Case as PDF

Bosch_Logo

Smart parking management:

search less, find more - we have tested it!

Who doesn't know this - one wanders through the city by car or the multi-storey car park in search of a free parking space. Wouldn't it be nice to get a general overview of the remaining free spaces and then be guided to the next free space by navigation?

A scenario that could not be better when it comes to SmartCity applications.
It is still often said that retrofitting is almost impossible, the investments are too high and the infrastructure costs too high.
We at m2m Germany see things somewhat differently and have started a self-experiment.

Parking spaces-m2mGermanyThe few but sufficient parking spaces in front of the m2m Germany building were used for the field test in terms of parking space management. Therefore the Parking Lot Sensors from Bosch. In order to make it clear that a modern parking solution is easy to retrofit and works effectively and reliably, we wanted to install parking sensors directly on our parking lot. The requirements range from quick installation to low power consumption. An appropriate dashboard solution that shows which spaces are occupied and which are available was to round off the test scenario.

What it can do:

  • Device connectivity via the industry standard IoT protocols - MQTT, CoAP and HTTP
  • supports cloud and also local implementations
  • Installation in a few minutes, with a few simple steps

You can find more about the result here

Bosch Case as PDF

Lösungen die begeistern

Auf ein „geht nicht“ erwidern wir gerne „gibt’s nicht“. Verschaffen Sie sich an Hand einiger Kundenprojekte einen kleinen Überblick über unsere bereits realisierten IoT/ Industrie4.0-Lösungen. Ob Remote Monitoring, Retrofit, Asset Tracking oder kundenspezifische Produktentwicklung – wir finden auch für Ihre Anwendung die passende Lösung


Systemlösung zur aktiven Sicherheit rund um Sonder- und Entsorgungsfahrzeuge

Sicherheit in Sonder– und Entsorgungsfahrzeugen ist das A und O. Aktive Sicherheit bringt das zusätzliche Plus – nicht nur für den Fahrer, sondern für alle: Passanten, Bürger und Angestellte. Die ViSy GmbH entwickelt 3D Rückfahrassistenzsysteme, die als Systemlösung zur Aktiven Sicherheit, rund ums Entsorgungsfahrzeug dienen. Dafür setzt die ViSy GmbH bereits die auf embedded Linux basierende Telematik Plattform Owa3x ein. Bei Fahrerassistenzsystemen spielt die Telematik-Plattform/Telematik-Unit eine zentrale Rolle als Knotenpunkt wo sämtliche Daten zusammenlaufen, koordiniert und ausgewertet werden. Jedes Assistenzsystem kann daher nur so leistungsfähig sein, wie es die verbaute Unit erlaubt.

Intelligente Fahrzeugvernetzung via owa4x:

 

Müllwagen der beladen wird

ViSy hat sich zur Aufgabe gemacht die Sicherheit rund um Sonderfahrzeuge, wie z.B. Müllwagen, für Bürger und Angestellte zu erhöhen, um ein Maximum an Sicherheit zu gewährleisten. In diesem Zuge wird das bereits vorhandenen Assistenzsystem immer weiterentwickelt und an neue Bedürfnisse und neu zur Verfügung stehende Techniken angepasst. Im Rahmen der Weiterentwicklung kristallisierte sich heraus, dass die Features der aktuell eingesetzten Owa3x für zusätzliche Belange wie Diagnosefunktionen nicht mehr ausreichend waren.  ViSy war auf der Suche nach einer erweiterten Plattform, die mehr Freiraum in der Programmierung offeriert, mehr CAN Schnittstellen bietet und deren Leistungskapazität generell höher angelegt ist. Darüber hinaus sollte die neue Plattform-Lösung ebenso kompakt wie die Owa3x sein, eine Zulassung für den Einbau in Fahrzeuge haben, über mindestens Schutzklasse IP67 verfügen und nach Möglichkeit alle anderen Features der Owa3x besitzen, wie z.B. Mobilfunk, GNSS, Bluetooth Smart/WiFi, programmierbare Sensorik etc..


Im Besonderen sollte die neue Plattform:

  • Über mehr CAN-Bus Schnittstellen verfügen
  • Eine  höhere Datengeschwindigkeit für den Datentransfer ermöglichen (3G)
  • Und die Genauigkeit des GPS Signals garantieren

Was es bringt:

  • Steigerung der Sicherheit
  • Senken der Entwicklungs- und Anpassungskosten
  • Anbindung der neuen Rückfahrkataster Funktion
ViSy Case als PDF


Remote Monitoring – Probleme frühzeitig erkennen und Produktivität steigern.

Produktionsprozesse sollten effektiv und effizient sein. Um diese Ziele zu erreichen gilt es die Abläufe innerhalb des Prozesses zu überwachen und gegebenenfalls anzupassen. Beim Remote Monitoring werden statistische

Daten des zu überwachenden Prozesses oder einer am Prozess beteiligten Anlage, erhoben, gespeichert und ein entsprechender Datenzugriff ermöglicht. Der Zugriff auf die Daten kann permanent oder temporär sein und aus der Ferne erfolgen. Nur optimal abgestimmte Prozesse setzen sich wirtschaftlich durch und führen zu den gewünschten Effekten.

Verkürzte Prototypen Entwicklungszeit in der Automobil-Branche durch Remote-Monitoring:

Prototyp eines neuwagen in der typischen Musterfolie beklebt

 

Zeit ist in der Entwickler-Szene ein entscheidender Faktor. Neue Auto-Typen müssen intensiv getestet werden – in der Regel 12 Monate lang und das im 24/7 Betrieb. Je schneller und optimaler Testergebnisse und Messdaten ausgewertet werden können, umso besser und schneller kann eine Entwicklung „Marktreife erlangen“.

 

 

  • Remote Monitoring überträgt Messdaten in Echtzeit oder Intervall gesteuert – eine manuelle Datenübergabe beim Fahrerwechsel entfällt
  • Alle erhobenen Daten stehen zeitgleich unterschiedlichsten Abteilungen national, wie international – zur Verfügung – kein Zeitverlust mehr auf der internen Kommunikationsebene
  • Auf frühzeitig erkannte Problem kann direkter reagiert und unzureichende Testergebnisse können schneller wiederholt werden

Was es bringt:

  • Steigerung der Effizienz
  • Senken der Entwicklungskosten
  • Optimierte Testphase
  • Schnellers „time-to-market“
MB Tech Case als PDF

Großanlage in der Industrie

 Remote Monitoring & Controlling – Fernwarten und Fernwirken für optimierte Produktivität

Herstellungsprozesse unterliegen wirtschaftlichen und sicherheitstechnischen Faktoren. Um beiden Aspekten gerecht werden zu können, bietet sich eine permanente Überwachung aller am Herstellungsprozess beteiligten Maschinen und Anlagen, sowie einem direkten Steuerungszugriff auf diese, an. Können Überwachung und Steuerung auch aus der Ferne gemeistert werden, spricht man von Remote Monitoring und Remote Controlling.

Beides versetzt ein Unternehmen in die Lage, seine Herstellungsprozesse zu optimieren, aber nur dann, wenn die zu vernetzenden Maschinen eine gemeinsame „Sprache“ sprechen.

Intelligente Maschinenvernetzung in der Petrochemie für mehr Effektivität und Transparenz:

Zeit ist Geld – vor allem in der Industrie. Deshalb müssen sowohl Servicemitarbeiter als auch Betriebsleiter jederzeit und von jedem Ort aus auf Maschinen und Anlagen eines Herstellungsprozesses zugreifen können.

Wichtig dabei ist, das alle beteiligten Maschinen und Anlagen herstellerunabhängig miteinander verbunden werden können – egal ob es sich um Maschinen aus dem Altbestand oder Neuanschaffungen handelt – vernetzte Maschinen brauchen eine gemeinsame „Sprache“ – Dank eines Protokollwandlers – eine Art Maschinen-Sprachen-Übersetzer – wird ein Remote Monitoring & Controlling durchgängig möglich.

  • Protokollwandler vereinen unterschiedlichste Maschinenprotokolle miteinander und lassen eine gemeinsame Gerätekommunikation zu
  • Remote Monitoring ist eine durchgehende Überwachung von Maschinen und Anlagen via Mobilfunkanbindung – jederzeit und von jedem Ort aus, ist der Anlagenzustand ersichtlich.
  • Ein Zugriff auf vernetzte Steuerungseinheiten via Mobilfunkrouter-Verbindung und entsprechender Cloud-Lösung gewährleistet einen sicheren Produktionsablauf.
  • Bei Störfällen, Wartungsarbeiten oder Problemen in Sachen Maschinenauslastung kann direkt auf die Maschinen und Anlagen zugegriffen werden.
  • Zuweisbare Zugangs- und Zugriffsberechtigungen schaffen Sicherheit und Transparenz

Was es bringt:

  • Frühzeitige Fehlererkennung
  • Reduktion von Ausfall- und Produktionskosten
  • Ressourcenschonender Einsatz für Mensch und Maschine, reduzierte Personalkosten & Retrofit
  • Steigerung der Produktivität
Fachartikel: Intelligente Maschinenvernetzung als PDF

Smartes Asset-Tracking für optimiere Produktionsprozesse

Prozesse zu optimieren fängt da an, wo sich etwas schneller, besser und mit wenig Aufwand umsetzen lässt. Das Optimieren ist im Handel und in der Produktion existenziell geworden. Produktionskosten zu senken und Prozesseeffizient zu gestalten ist das Ziel – digitale, smarte Lösungen können das bewerkstelligen. Wenn man beispielsweise immer weiß, wo sich wann, welches am Herstellungsprozess beteiligtes Objekt befindet, kann das zu einer erheblichen Zeit- und Kostenreduktion führen.

Track & Trace von Objekten auf Betriebsgelände mit einer LoRa® Funklösung:

Ein Hersteller von Fahrzeugaufbauten hat beispielsweise auf einem 130.000qm² Werksgeländezig gleichaussehende Fahrzeuge stehen, die von einer Bearbeitungsstation in die nächste überführt werden müssen.

Auf Grund der fehlenden Kennzeichnung ist das Auffinden eines Fahrzeuges zeitintensiv. Sobald aber eine eindeutige Zuordnung dank eines Smarten Funksensors möglich ist, kann das jeweilige Fahrzeug permanent geortet werden. Der Sensor-Tag selbst ist dabei nicht fest im Fahrzeug verbaut, sondern wird bei Baubeginn einfach in das Führerhaus gelegt und kann mehrfach wiederverwendet werden. Die Funkanbindung erfolgt via Long Range Netzwerk, das eigens dazu auf dem Gelände installiert wurde – klingt nach viel Aufwand, ist es aber nicht: ein entsprechend positioniertes Gateway reicht, um groß flächige Areale abzudecken. Das Fahrzeug ist jederzeit an jedem Ort auf dem Gelände, in den Produktionshallen und in deren Umfeld innerhalb kürzester Zeit eindeutig und schnell auffindbar. Verwechselungen sind ausgeschlossen. Die Daten, die die Tags kontinuierlich sammeln und über das LoRa®-Netz weitergeben, fließen direkt in eine IoT-Software-Plattform und werden dort visualisiert und können entsprechend weiterbearbeitet werden.

  • Sensor-Tags orten das getaggte Objekt auf dem Werksgelände – jederzeit ist jedes Fahrzeug identifizierbar
  • Alle Sensordaten laufen zentral in der IoT-Software Plattform zusammen und können auch via mobilen Endgeräten wie Smartphones, Tablets etc, abgerufen werden
  • Produktionsprozesse können besser terminiert werden
  • Der Sensor Tag kann auch als eine Art „unsichtbarer Zaun“ eingesetzt werden – verlässt ein Fahrzeug oder Objekt das definierte Areal wird dies unmittelbar gemeldet

Was es bringt:

  • Zeitersparnis durch exaktes Auffinden des Objektes
  • Wartezeiten an den einzelnen Produktionsstationen verringern
  • Steigerung der Produktivität
  • Verminderung der Produktionskosten
  • Sicherheitsstandards erhöhen
Spier Case als PDF

Technologie Integration in ein bereits bestehendes Steuersystem

Oft stehen Unternehmen vor der Herausforderung Bestandsprodukte oder bereits entwickelte Lösungen an neue Technologiestandards anzupassen. Dann stellt sich die Frage, ob eine hauseigene Entwicklungsabteilung über ausreichend Ressourcen verfügt – sowohl personell als auch wissenstechnisch. Speziell Funkapplikationen setzten Expertenwissen voraus, um eine zukunftstaugliche und umsetzbare Lösung zu entwickeln. Da kommen wir, die m2m Germany, mit unserer Entwicklungsabteilung ins Spiel.

Musik für den Chirurgen – Entwicklung einer Bluetooth Streaming Lösung für OP-Säle

Wenn es um technische Anfragen aus dem Umfeld der Medizin geht, wird es meistens heikel – gilt es doch den dafür festgelegten Standards gerecht zu werden – im Besonderen dann, wenn es um eine technische Integration in OP-Sälen geht. Mit einem ausgefallenen Problem trat Olympus Surgical Technologies an m2m Germany heran. Das Unternehmen war auf der Suche nach einer passenden Streaming Lösung für OP-Säle, dass kompatibel zu der bereits existierenden Integrationslösung von Olympus sein sollte.

Die medizintechnische Integrationslösung von Olympus verfügt über vielfältige Schnittstellen zu unterschiedlichsten Bereichen – vom Videomanagement für Live-Videos, über Dokumentation zum Informationsmanagement, bis hin zur Steuerung aller medizinischen Geräte und Peripheriesystemen eines Operationssaals. Und genau in dieses System sollte eine neue Audio-Streaming Lösung integriert werden. Ziel der neuen Lösung sollte es sein, eine vom Musikdatenträger herstellerunabhängige Lösung in die integrierte OP-Lösung von Olympus einzugliedern und das Streaming via Touchscreen der zentralen Steuerungseinheit bedienen zu können. Grundlegende Voraussetzung dabei muss eine internationale Zertifizierung der neuen Lösung sein, um diese dann auch tatsächlich in die bereits vorhandene Audio-Streaming Lösung integrieren zu können und international vertreiben zu dürfen.

  • Bluetooth ist eine herstellerunabhängiger Technologie und nahezu standardisiert bei Geräten wie MP3-Playern und Smartphones
  • Bei Bluetooth fallen keine Mobilfunkkosten an
  • Sich bei der Bauform für eine Unterputz-Steckdose zu entscheiden, sichert die höhen Hygiene Standards
  • innerhalb eines Operationssaales.
  • Die bereits bestehende Integrationslösung von Olympus verfügt über eine Bluetooth-Schnittstelle, wodurch ein Zugriff via Touchscreen umgesetzt werden kann.

Was es bringt:

  • Erweiterung des eigenen Produktes – „State-of-the-art“
  • Reduktion der Entwicklungs- und Personalkosten
  • „Time-To-Market“ Effekt durch zertifizierte Entwicklung mit entsprechender Länderzulassung
Olympus Case als PDF